Archive for May 17, 2010

The Oasis Music Awards, originally launched in 2000 as the Oasis Smooth Jazz Awards, will be presented in March of 2011 in San Diego, CA.

The three previous Oasis Music Awards shows were virtual all-star concerts in 2000, 2001 and 2002 with The Rippingtons, Rick Braun, Jeff Lorber, Richard Elliot, Peter White, Boney James, Kirk Whalum, Herb Alpert, Dave Koz, Al Jarreau, Bob James, Keiko Matsui, Brenda Russell, David Benoit, Euge Groove, Brian Culbertson, Marc Antoine, Steve Cole, Keiko Matsui, the late Wayman Tisdale, and more, all performing.

The Oasis Awards llc, will produce the awards show and other events to take place over the four day weekend, March 10-13, 2011. San Diego was chosen as the host city because of the enthusiastic response from radio station KIFM, the San Diego Convention and Visitors Bureau and area hotels and due to the variety of local venues.

The overall event weekend will include a concert featuring up and coming artists, a reception with the artists and attendees, the Oasis Music Awards show and more. Specific venue and sponsor details will be announced within the next 30-60 days. Plans to broadcast the Saturday night Oasis Music Awards show are being finalized.