The Oasis Music Awards, originally launched in 2000 as the Oasis Smooth Jazz Awards, will be presented in March of 2011 in San Diego, CA.

The three previous Oasis Music Awards shows were virtual all-star concerts in 2000, 2001 and 2002 with The Rippingtons, Rick Braun, Jeff Lorber, Richard Elliot, Peter White, Boney James, Kirk Whalum, Herb Alpert, Dave Koz, Al Jarreau, Bob James, Keiko Matsui, Brenda Russell, David Benoit, Euge Groove, Brian Culbertson, Marc Antoine, Steve Cole, Keiko Matsui, the late Wayman Tisdale, and more, all performing.

The Oasis Awards llc, will produce the awards show and other events to take place over the four day weekend, March 10-13, 2011. San Diego was chosen as the host city because of the enthusiastic response from radio station KIFM, the San Diego Convention and Visitors Bureau and area hotels and due to the variety of local venues.

The overall event weekend will include a concert featuring up and coming artists, a reception with the artists and attendees, the Oasis Music Awards show and more. Specific venue and sponsor details will be announced within the next 30-60 days. Plans to broadcast the Saturday night Oasis Music Awards show are being finalized.

In addition to the performances, often featuring combinations of artists who do not usually play together, awards will be presented recognizing the best performers, producers and executives in the business.

Chris White and Bill Paddock are managing producers of The Oasis Music Awards. Paddock co-produced the original Smooth Jazz Awards shows. White and Paddock expect the 2011 show to be “Even bigger than the earlier shows because of the multi-night festivities” said White.

The original idea for the “Smooth Jazz Awards” came from Rick Parrish, a radio executive and co-founder of the Awards. Parrish, promoter/producer Jerry Thompson from Ft Worth, and Paddock were the original founders of the Oasis Smooth Jazz Awards. The first show was held at Bass Hall, in Ft Worth, TX, on January 28, 2000. Dave Koz hosted the show and Jeff Lorber served as Music Director. In 2001, the show was moved to The Chicago Theater, downtown Chicago, where 3,500 seats sold out three weeks in advance. San Diego hosted the Awards in 2002. Koz and Lorber repeated their roles in both Chicago and San Diego. ShoCorp, Inc took over the awards after the 2002 show. Award winners were announced in 2003 but a planned show at the Wiltern Theater in Los Angeles was called off before tickets went on sale. The Oasis Awards have not been presented since 2003.

Paddock said, “I’m happy to be playing a part in bringing back the Oasis Music Awards. As in the original years, we will be working with a panel of industry professionals to make this a premier event for fans, artists and everyone involved. Chris and I share a love for the music and the artists. I was in radio/TV management in Country radio during the ‘80’s when that format was exploding. Today’s “Smooth” artists remind me of the country artists of those days. They are great to work with and they love their fans as much as the fans love them. The format has matured, grown, and expanded since we introduced the Awards. It will be fun to see the winners in the broader categories”.

Co-managing producer Chris White said “The recording and radio industries have changed drastically in recent years but fans take this genre very personally. The future of this music via the internet and portable personal devices like ipods and smart phones is really exciting. This event promises to be a great recognition of the top Jazz artists in the industry for their contributions to the music world, and a great opportunity for Jazz fans worldwide to see them all on one stage in a multi-faceted and interactive program format”.

Venue, ticket, voting, and performance information is forthcoming.


Comments are closed.