Archive for January 11, 2011

Wave 94.7 presents the 2011 Wave Awards (formerly the Canadian Smooth Jazz Awards) at the Living Arts Centre on Friday April 29, 2011. The name has changed but the philosophy and celebrations remain the same. The Wave Awards is honoured to be presenting the George Benson Lifetime Achievement Award to guitar icon, Larry Carlton. Performing this year will be Larry Carlton, Mindi Abair, Paul Brown, Michael Dunston, Leyland Gordon, Gabriel Mark Hasselbach, Warren Hill, Lisa McClowry and Jim Peterik, Steve Oliver, Alexander Zonjic and more! Tickets are on sale now at the Living Arts Centre. Limited number of VIP Angels Gate Gala tickets are available at the Wave by calling 905-388-8911.

The Wave Awards 2011 Nominees for 2010 Year

International Instrumentalist of the Year

Mindi Abair
Bob Baldwin
Norman Brown
Brian Culbertson
Paul Hardcastle
Dave Koz
Steve Oliver
Chris Standring

International Vocalist of the Year

Paul Brown
Adam Crossley
Lisa McClowry
Leslie Mendelson

Female Vocalist of the Year

Chantal Chamberland
Julie Crochetiere
Ali Matthews
Hayley Sales
Nikki Yanofsky

Male Vocalist of the Year

David Blamires
Michael Dunston
Marc Jordan
Alfie Zappacosta

Instrumentalist of the Year

Don Breithaupt
Cates-Fomin Project
Rob DeBoer
Leyland Gordon
Gabriel Mark Hasselbach
Walle Larsson
Les Sabler

Best Original Composition

Don Breithaupt & Alfie Zappacosta ”You Make Me Laugh”

Chantal Chamberland & Cynthia Kerr “Telephone”

Julie Crochetiere & Russ Boswell “Tomorrow”

Feist “Try Try Try”

Andrew Scott, Rob De Boer & Tony Grace “Soul Revolution”

Album of the Year

Chantal Chamberland and Cynthia Kerr (Open Mind)
Title: Over Oceans
Producers: Open Mind, Bob Doidge, Amy King

Gabriel Mark Hasselbach
Title: Told Ya So
Producers: Gabriel Mark Hasselbach & Miles Black

Leyland Gordon Group
Title: Time Dances
Producer: Igor Vrabac

Walle Larsson
Title: After the Night
Producer: Walle Larsson

Nikki Yanofsky
Title: Nikki
Producers: Phil Ramone & Jesse Harris

Alphabetical Listing Showing Multiple Nominations

Miles Black Album of the Year – Told Ya So (with Gabriel M Hasselbach)
David Blamires Male Vocalist
Russ Boswell Best Original Composition (with Julie Crochetiere)
Don Breithaupt Instrumentalist
Best Original Composition (with Alfie Zappacosta)
Cates Fomin Project Instrumentalist
Chantal Chamberland Female Vocalist
Album of the Year – Over Oceans
Julie Crochetiere Female Vocalist
Best Original Composition (with Russ Boswell)
Rob DeBoer Instrumentalist of the Year
Best Original Composition – Soul Revolution (with Andy Scott and Tony Grace)
Bob Doidge Album of the Year – Over Oceans
Michael Dunston Male Vocalist
Elby Male Vocalist
Feist Best Original Composition -Try Try Try
Tony Grace Best Original Composition -Soul Revolution (with Andy Scott and Rob DeBoer)
Jesse Harris Best Album – Nikki (with Phil Ramone)
Gabriel Mark Hasselbach Instrumentalist
Album of the Year – Told Ya So (with Miles Black)
Marc Jordan Male Vocalist
Cynthia Kerr Album of the Year – Over Oceans
Best Original Composition
Amy King Album of the Year – Over Oceans (with Bob Doidge, Open Mind)
Walle Larsson Instrumentalist
Album of the Year – After the Night
Leyland Gordon Group
Leyland Gordon Album of the Year – Time Dances
Instrumentalist of the Year
Phil Ramone Best Album – Nikki (with Jesse Harris, Nikki Yanofsky)
Les Sabler Instrumentalist
Andrew Scott Best Original Composition – Soul Revolution (with Rob DeBoer)
Igor Vrabac Album of the Year – Time Dances
Nikki Yanofsky Female Vocalist
Album of the Year Jesse Harris, Phil Ramone
Alfie Zappacosta Male Vocalist
Best Original Composition (with Don Breithaupt)

For more information about The Wave Awards 2011 visit


Band on the Wall and Jazz FM are delighted to present two great funk and jazz icons – saxophonist Ronnie Laws and trumpet player Tom Browne performing together with full band. Over their 30-year careers they’ve played with some of the biggest stars out there, including Quincy Jones, Sister Sledge, Ramsey Lewis, Earth, Wind & Fire, Mariah Carey and Eryka Badu – expect the stage to sizzle when these two get playing!

Ronnie Laws

In 1972, Laws joined the fledgling group Earth, Wind & Fire, playing saxophone and flute on their seminal album Last Days and Time. In 1975, he began his solo career with the album Pressure Sensitive, on which his most famous instrumental song, Always There, was included. It became an instant jazz-funk classic, covered by numerous artists. Laws has also recorded with numerous other artists, including Arthur Adams, Howard Hewett, Brian Culbertson, Ramsey Lewis, Jeff Lorber, Hugh Masekela, Alphonse Mouzon, David Sea, and Sister Sledge.

Tom Browne

Tom Browne’s success was inevitable as he began to carve a path for his musical future early on as a student of New York’s High School of Music and Art. During this period, Browne became a regular on the New York jazz scene.

In 1978 after Browne played an NY uptown club affiliated with George Benson, he was offered several solo recording contracts and ultimately signed with GRP Records (then distributed by Arista). On GRP, he recorded four solo albums. His debut release, Browne Sugar (1979) dominated the jazz charts for numerous weeks while his next two releases Love Approach (1980) and Magic (1981) each sold 500,000 units earning gold records. Love Approach also spawned the hit song Funkin’ for Jamaica, which earned him a gold single and today, is still a favorite among dance DJ’s around the world.

The Band:

Ronnie Laws – saxophone

Tom Browne – trumpet

Jason Rebello – keys

Troy Miller – drums

Nick Cook – bass

This concert will begin at 8pm but our Picturehouse Cafe Bar is open for delicious food and drinks from 5.30pm. Special Offer! Book your meal in advance and get free ‘lucky dip’ tickets for a future concert – click here now for details.

Sun 23rd January 2011 – Doors open: 19:30


Important update:

The January 15th concert, featuring Matt Marshak, will be held inside CLUB 303 at Royal Palm Place. This club provides an intimate setting with plenty of seating, a full bar and food available, and valet parking. There will be plenty of time for a “meet and greet” with Matt and the band after the show, and you will have the opportunity to get personally autographed CDs.

Valentine’s Dinner Jazz Cruise – A romantic jazz dinner cruise with saxophonist Eric Marner and Company aboard the warm and cozy Spirit Of Baltimore. This event is for couples and singles. Step aboard Baltimore’s most festive and engaging dining cruise experience! You’ll enjoy plentiful buffet dining, DJ music, live performances, and more – all aboard this moving celebration!

Spirit Cruises – Baltimore Inner Harbor
Tickets only $75